Institute for Structural and Chemical Biology


All our research is driven by people. Our academics lead research groups with postdocs, PhD students and technical staff, often in collaboration with each other and other colleagues. Our facility managers provide technical expertise and are outstanding scientists in their own right.

See our Management and Advisory Board 

John SchwabeInstitute Director

Professor John Schwabe

  • Professor of Structural Biology
  • Structural Biology: NMR Spectroscopy and X-ray Crystallography
  • Molecular mechanisms of the regulation of gene expression
  • Nuclear receptors and their role in metabolism, development and disease
Learn more about Professor John Schwabe

Andrew HudsonInstitute Deputy Director

Professor Andrew Hudson

  • Professor of Biophysical Chemistry
  • Specialises in applying optical methods including optical tweezing molecular spectroscopy and microscopy (and combinations of these) to address problems at the life science interface
Learn more about Professor Andrew Hudson

Tennie VidelerInstitute Manager

Dr Tennie Videler

Learn more about Dr Tennie Videler


Philip Ash

Philip AshResearch group

  • Metalloenzyme mechanism with sub-turnover frequency time resolution
Learn more about Philip Ash

Mark Carr

portrait of Professor Mark CarrResearch group

  • Structure-based drug discovery
Learn more about Mark Carr

Amanda Chaplin

portrait Amanda ChaplinResearch group

  • Structural architecture of DNA repair machinery
Learn more about Amanda Chaplin

Cyril Dominguez

Research groupprofile pi Cyril Dominguez

  • Structure and function of RNA processing complexes
Learn more about Cyril Dominguez

Richard Doveston

Richard DovestonResearch group

  • Stabilising protein-protein interactions
Learn more about Richard Doveston

Ian Eperon

Research group

  • RNA splicing: from single-molecules to therapyIan Eperon profile
Learn more about Ian Eperon

Joanna Fox

Joanna FoxResearch group

  • Regulation and molecular architecture of apoptotic protein complexes
Learn more about Joanna Fox

Bibek Gooptu

Bibek GooptuResearch group

  • Conformational mechanisms of lung and liver disease
Learn more about Bibek Gooptu

Gareth Hall

Research group

  • Structure-based drug discovery

Find out more about Gareth Hall

James Hodgkinson

portrait james hodgkinsonResearch group

  • Synthetic organic chemistry and chemical biology
Learn more about James Hodgkinson

Richard Hopkinson

Richard HopkinsonResearch group

  • Understanding the functional role of formaldehyde in health and disease
Learn more about Richard Hopkinson

Andrew Hudson

Andrew HudsonResearch group

  • Biospectroscopy and imaging
Learn more about Andrew Hudson

Hanna Kwon

Hanna KwonResearch group

  • Metalloenzyme mechanisms
Learn more about Hanna Kwon

Peter Moody

portrait Peter MoodyResearch group

  • Enzyme structure and function
Learn more about Peter Moody

Helen O'Hare

Helen o'HareResearch group

  • Molecular mechanisms of sensory perception and metabolic regulation in bacteria
Learn more about Helen O'Hare

Daniel Panne

Daniel PanneResearch group

  • Structural biology of signal transduction and epigenetic gene regulation
Learn more about Daniel Panne

Andrey Revyakin

portrait Andrey RevyakinResearch group

  • Single molecule dynamics of gene expression
Learn more about Andrey Revyakin

Thomas Schalch

Thomas SchlachResearch group

  • Chromatin structure and function

Learn more about Thomas Schalch

Ralf Schmid

Research group

  • Molecular modelling and bioinformaticsportrait Ralf Schmid
Learn more about Ralf Schmid

John Schwabe

John SchwabeResearch group

  • Structural biology of transcriptional repression complexes
Learn more about John Schwabe

Rama Suntharalingam

Research groupportrait Rama Suntharalingam

  • Metallopharmaceuticals for the treatment of cancer
Learn more about Rama Suntharalingam

Geerten W Vuister

Geerten VuisterResearch group

  • Structural biology of Ca2+-transport regulation complexes

Learn more about Geerten W Vuister

Russell Wallis

Research groupportrait professor Russell Wallis

  • Structural biology of complement activation
Learn more about Russell Wallis

Facility managers

Dr Jaswir Basran

Jaswir BasranBiophysical characterisation

Learn more about Jaswir Basran

Dr Fred Muskett

Dr TJ Ragan

TJ RaganResearch Computing Officer

TJ is the Scientific Computation Officer at the Institute of Structural and Chemical Biology.

Previous to this role he was a postdoctoral scientist at Leicester University and before that at NIMR in Mill Hill. His scientific interests are protein NMR protein structure calculations and single particle cryo-EM.

Dr Christos Savva

Christos savvaCryo-Electron Microscopy Facility Manager

As the Cryo-EM Facility manager, I oversee the day to day operation of the Titan Krios, assisting users with Data collection and training users on specimen preparation and screening. I obtained my PhD from Texas A&M University in 2007 which focused on the structural determination of bacteriophage lysis proteins as well as other membrane complexes by (Cryo) electron microscopy.

I stayed on at Texas A&M working as an associate research scientist at the Microscopy and Imaging Center. I then moved to Birkbeck College to study the structures of Clostridial pore forming toxins by Cryo-EM and X-ray crystallography. Following my postdoc, I moved to the MRC Laboratory of molecular Biology as a research support officer before joining the University of Leicester in 2018. My research interests are in membrane protein complexes that form pores in cellular membranes.

Honorary members

Some of our past principal investigators remain affiliated to the Institute for Structural and Chemical Biology as honorary members.

Ivan Campeotto

Research group

  • Structural studies of key regulators of malaria and trypanosomal infections
Learn more about Ivan Campeotto

Alfredo De Biasio

Research group

  • Molecular architecture and function of DNA replication and repair machines
Learn more about Alfredo De Biasio

Pietro Roversi

Research group

  • ERQC/ERAD modulation for broad-spectrum glycoprotein secretion-rescue in rare disease
Learn more about Pietro Roversi
Back to top