Academic year: 2017-2018

The curious case of the cross-dressing Catholic: festivity and resistance in Jacobean Lancashire

Thursday 22 March 2018
Jonathan Healey (University of Oxford)

Mobility, transport and community: evidence from life writing

Thursday 8 March 2018
Colin Pooley (Lancaster University)

The impact of scab panzootics on sheep farming and the wool industry in England, c.1270–1320

Thursday 22 February 2018
Philip Slavin (University of Kent)

The path to the monastery: communication networks linking monastic estates in the southern Welsh Marches

Thursday 8 February 2018
Eddie Procter (University of Exeter)

Scandinavian identities and English place-names

Thursday 25 January 2018
Jayne Carroll (University of Nottingham)

‘The tide of historical thinking': a conceptual genealogy of W.G. Hoskins’s perception of early medieval landscapes

Thursday 30 November 2017
Nicolas Schroeder (Université Libre de Bruxelles) 

Religion and the rise of sport in Victorian England

Thursday 16 November 2017
Hugh McLeod (University of Birmingham)

Understanding neighbourliness: a parish perspective from early modern Scotland

Thursday 2 November 2017
Chris R. Langley (Newman University)

Seditious memories of the British wars and revolutions: the local legacies of conflict after the Restoration

Thursday 19 October 2017
Edward Legon (UCL)

Migration to London in the second half of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and the development of the north-south divide

Thursday 5 October 2017
Kevin Schürer (ELH, University of Leicester)