About the University of Leicester

Council Membership 2023-24

Where applicable, the end date has been listed.

Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council
Gary Dixon, BSc, FCA, MBA (2025)

President and Vice-Chancellor
Professor Nishan Canagarajah

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Henrietta O'Connor

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Professional Services)
Kerry Law

Cathy Ellis (2024)

Appointed by the Council
George Acquah (2024)
Lauren Bartlett (2027)
Liz Blyth (2026)
Jack Chambers (2027)
Rishi Madlani (2025)
Kevin Nagle (2025)
Richard Tapp, LLB, LLM, MBA, FCIS, MCIArb, FRSA Solicitor (2025)

Appointed by the Senate
Professor Catherine Morley (2025) 
Dr Gabrielle Provan (2026)
Professor Mark Purnell (2024)
Professor Jacqui Shaw (2024)

Appointed by the Court
Mehmooda Duke MBE DL (2025)
Cathy Ellis (2026) (Treasurer for 2023-24)
Dr Sophie Dale-Black PhD, BSc; Vice-Chair of Council (2025)
vacancy x2

The President of the Students’ Union
Archie Robinson (2023)

Appointed by the Alumni Association
Martin Cullen (2024)

Geoff Green, Registrar and Secretary

Assistant Secretary
Alison Benson

Back to top