Leading biomedical and health scientists at Leicester recognised with Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship

Professors from our University have been elected to join the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professors Melanie Davies CBE and Martin Tobin from Leicester are among 48 of the UK’s world leading researchers to receive the distinction, as is Professor Ian Hall from the University of NottinghamProfessors Tobin and Hall have collaborated successfully for many years resulting in breakthroughs in genetics of lung health and disease - including new industry partnerships in 2018. Professors Davies and Hall also work closely together as leads of their respective NIHR Biomedical Research Centres.

The new Fellows have been elected for their outstanding contributions to biomedical and health science, leading research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.

This year's elected Fellows have expertise that spans sleep research, infectious and tropical diseases, diabetes medicine, parasite biology and ultrasound research and technology among many other fields.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 27 June 2018.