Varsity Victory for Team Leicester Cricket

1pm, Friday 20 May, Fischer County Ground, Grace Rd, Leicester LE2 8AD

Result: ULCC 148-4 in 20 overs beat DMUCC 123-6 off 20 overs

Traditionally the smallest of the showcase Varsity events, the prospect of a game under the brand new floodlights at the Fischer County Ground significantly increased this year’s attendance at Cricket Varsity. The Cricket Club sold over 300 tickets sold in advance of the fixture and plenty more spectators arrived on the day. Team Leicester did not disappoint on the big stage and put on an impressive performance to win by 25 runs.

Batting first, University of Leicester openers Nick Astley (31) and Gavin Hall (30) set a solid platform having shared a 66 run partnership off just 8 overs, making the most of some wayward bowling and a number of mis-fields by DMU. The runs continued to flow as captain Harry Sambrook (20) came to the crease, hitting an elegant straight drive for six before being caught behind. Jules Swain and Jack Stokes continued the momentum for Leicester, scoring quickly and keeping the scoreboard ticking over. Leicester finished with a very competitive 148-4 on the board at the end of their innings, the highest score by a University of Leicester team at the Fischer County Ground.

As the second innings commenced, DMU fought their way back into the contest with some aggressive batting and were 64-1 at the halfway stage despite some tight bowling and a strong fielding display by Leicester. However, as the final 10 overs came, the superior fielding began to pay off for Leicester as wickets regularly fell. A stunning one handed catch and a sublime run-out from the boundary highlighted this. DMU were left needing 30 runs from the final 6 balls and finished their innings on 123-6 in what was a fantastic game and a fitting finale to a successful Varsity season.

The trophy was presented to winning captain Harry Sambrook at the halfway stage of the Leicestershire vs Northamptonshire Natwest Blast fixture in front of a packed crowd later that evening. Representatives from Leicestershire CCC as well as current UoL Sports President, Ofure Ugiagbe and Student Development Officer, Ayesha Hamilton were in attendance to award the trophy.

Report by Paul Robbins, Team Leicester (Sports Coordinator)

Matt Weir, Head of Sport & Recreation (Acting) at the University of Leicester, said: "Team Leicester retained the Varsity Cricket trophy on Friday evening. It was a superb performance in front of a large crowd and the trophy was presented in between innings of the Leicestershire v Northamptonshire T/20 match which was the first to held underneath the club's new floodlights. That’s the Varsity 2016 season finished and we retained the trophy 35-12. Fantastic job Leicester!"