Stanley Burton Centre for Holocaust and Genocide Studies


Prefix telephone numbers with 0116 252 when calling from outside the University.

Director and core group

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Paul Moore Lecturer in Modern European History 2816
Dr Svenja Bethke Director
Lecturer in Modern European History
Dr Alexander Korb Associate Professor in Modern European History 2784
Dr Fransiska Louwagie Associate Professor of French Studies (Modern Languages) 2684
Professor Aubrey Newman Honorary Associate Director
Emeritus Professor of History
Dr Victoria Stewart Reader in Modern and Contemporary Literature 2634
Dr Luca Fenoglio Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship
Dr Martin Stern Managing Director (retired)

Associate member

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Rabah Aissaoui Senior Lecturer in French (Modern Languages)
Dr Larissa Allwork Honorary Associate Fellow
Dr Viv Golding Emeritus Associate Professor (School of Museum Studies) 3975
Dr Jovan Byford Senior Lecturer in Psychology (The Open University)
Dr Janet Marstine Academic Director (School of Museum Studies)
Dr Simona Storchi Deputy Head of the School of Arts
Lecturer in Italian
Dr Mani Jamalian Hamedani Post-doc (Stanley Burton Centre)

Advisory board

Name Institution
Professor Donald Bloxham University of Edinburgh
Professor Christopher Browning UNC Chapel Hill
Professor Elizabeth Harvey University of Nottingham
Professor Dan Stone Royal Holloway, University of London
Dr Anton Weiss-Wendt HL Senteret Oslo

Honorary Associate members

  • Ruth David
  • Dr Olaf Jensen
  • Dr Irina Marin
  • Dr Caroline Sharples

PhD students

Name Email
Josh Cohen
Julie Hurst-Whitehouse 
Namak Khoshnaw
Lauren Parsons
Nadine Tauchner
James Thedham
Judith Vӧcker
Anna Scanlon (graduated 2017)
Christina Winkler (graduated 2016)
Stefanie Rauch (graduated 2015)
Thomas McKay (graduated 2012)

Student volunteers supervisor

Name Email
Judith Vӧcker

HET Officer

Name Email
James Milton

Research Assistant

Name Email
Nadine Tauchner

Back to top