Centre for Exoplanet Research



  • Dr Sarah Casewell, STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellow and Lecturer


  • Richard Alexander, Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics


  • Dr Matt Burleigh
  • Professor Leigh Fletcher
  • Dr Mike Goad
  • Dr Adrian Martindale
  • Professor Sergei Nayakshin
  • Professor Jonathan Nichols

We encompass researchers in the areas of planet formation, planetary atmospheres and magnetospheres, exoplanet detection and characterisation. We currently have 8 academic staff, 2 postdoctoral researchers and 5 PhD students working in areas that link to exoplanets.

PhD opportunities

We often have STFC funded PhD opportunities within the School of Physics and Astronomy and support STFC Ernest Rutherford, UKRI Hawking, Leverhulme, Royal Society University Research Fellowships.  If you are interested in applying for a PhD or Fellowship position please contact us.

Back to top