Council member receives Radio Academy Fellowship

Vijay Sharma awarded prestigious Fellowship award by The Radio Academy.

Council member Vijay Sharma, former head of BBC Asian Network, was presented with The Radio Academy’s highly prestigious Fellowship award at a presentation yesterday (Thursday 18 October) at Segue, the national radio event taking place in Leeds.

Presented by Owen Bentley, one of the original founders of The Asian Network, the Fellowship is The Radio Academy’s highest honour for an individual’s dedication and contribution to the world of radio and broadcasting.

Formerly head of BBC Asian Network, Vijay (pictured receiving her honorary degree from the University in 2014), was appointed editor of BBC Midlands Regional Service in 1996, before overseeing the transformation of BBC Midlands Asian Regional Service into the nationwide digital network, BBC Asian Network in 2002.

Earlier this year three Fellowships were awarded to Sally Aitchison, MBE, Siobhan Kenny and Caroline Raphael, with an all-female list chosen to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of female suffrage in the UK.

Roger Cutsforth, CEO of The Radio Academy said: “Sharma has contributed enormously to the radio industry and in particular, the BBC Asian network, leaving an important legacy for British Asian audiences. The Radio Academy is delighted to recognise that contribution in this most significant of years, the 100-anniversary of female suffrage in the UK.”