Centre for New Writing

Annual Creative Writing lecture

The Centre for New Writing is proud to host this series of annual lectures by some of the world's finest writers. The lectures discuss all aspects of the craft of writing creatively and are free and open to the general public. Many are freely available as podcasts on this site.

Details of the upcoming 10th annual Creative Writing lecture: Val McDermid: Killing People for Fun and Profit, can be found on our events page.

Past lectures

  • First lecture: Ben Okri
  • Second lecture: Laura Esquivel
  • Third lecture: Jonathan Coe
  • Fourth lecture: Edna O'Brien
  • Fifth lecture: Robert Macfarlane
  • Sixth lecture: Michael Morpurgo
  • Seventh lecture: Lemn Sissay
  • Eighth lecture: Blake Morrison
  • Ninth lecture: Marlon James

Our lecture series is very kindly made possible through the support of the university's Development and Alumni Relations Department.

Back to top