Leicester Medical School

Course structure

For more detailed information about the MBChB course structure please see our curriculum overview.

We have designed the course to reflect its patient focus from the very beginning.

Phase 1

Phase 1 comprises Years 1 and 2 of your course. The teaching is integrated so that you learn all disciplines (anatomy, physiology etc.) within the context of a patient's presentations. This includes:

  • Early clinical apprenticeship with clinical attachments and development of clinical skills
  • Integrated teaching of molecular and cellular science and systems of the body
  • Integrated teaching on infection, pharmacology and therapeutics
  • Social, behavioural and population sciences

Phase 2

For Phase 2 (Years 3, 4 and 5), your clinical learning evolves through apprenticeship:

  • Year 3: 12-week placements in hospital medicine, hospital surgery and primary care
  • Year 4: Speciality blocks including child health, mental health and cancer care
  • Year 5: Foundation assistantships in hospital and community placements to hone skills before working as a doctor

You will select components in Years 3 and 5 to support your career aspirations, and there will be elective opportunities in Year 5, offering you the chance to do something different.

Back to top