School of Psychology and Vision Sciences


Project team

Eva Krockow, University of Leicester, Principal Investigator

Dr Eva Krockow is a Lecturer in Psychology in the School of Psychology of Vision Sciences with expertise in mixed-methods research in health-related decision making. Drawing on a track record of 40+ peer-reviewed articles, recent empirical work on the effectiveness of terminology pertaining to antibiotic resistance and cross-cultural research experience that led her to Sri Lanka and South Africa,  she has established herself as a research leader in the field. Eva is the principal investigator of this project, which includes overall responsibility of the programme of work, coordination with the Co-Investigator and Steering Group and supervision of the research associate.

Marc Mendelson, University of Cape Town, Co-Investigator

Marc Mendelson is a member of the Expert Committee for the 2020 Antimicrobial Resistance Benchmark. Marc is Professor of Infectious Diseases and Head of the Division of Infectious Diseases & HIV Medicine at Groote Schuur Hospital, University of Cape Town (UCT). He is Chair of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance, and founding Chair of the South African Antibiotic Stewardship Programme. Marc is a Co-Investigator on the project, overseeing the grant activities in South Africa.

Research Associate, University of Cape Town

The research associate is currently being recruited

Steering Group

The project is overseen by an international steering group that includes:

  • Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope, Lead Pharmacists for AMR at the UK Health Security Agency
  • Liz Callegari, International communications expert, Black Sands Communications Ltd
  • Dr Stephen Flusberg, Assistant Professor at Vassar College, US, and expert in cognitive psychology and metaphor use
  • Dr David Jenkins, Consultant Microbiologist at Leicester Royal Infirmary and Director of the British Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
  • Dr Mirfin Mpundu, Director of ReAct Africa, Zimbabwe
  • Dr Emma Pitchforth, Senior Lecturer at Exeter University and expert on Delphi methodology in healthcare research.
  • Professor Carolyn Tarrant, social scientist and qualitative methods expert at the University of Leicester.

Back to top