About Leicester Medical Society

Founded in 1800, one of the oldest medical societies in the country, the Leicester Medical Society is still going strong with an inspiring programme of lectures every year. These are open to doctors of all specialities, medical students and interested members of the public.

Additionally, we provide a number of medical student bursaries, manage an extensive library containing many valuable medical texts, and provide a social support network for medical doctors in the locality.

Officers 2020-21


Dr Darren Jackson


Dr Jonathan Cusack, Dr Rashi Malhotra, Phase 2 medical student Miss Anam Assad and Phase 1 medical student Mr Ross Kaszuba

Chairman of Council:

Dr C K Archer


Dr Vincent Riley


Mr G G Bodiwala, Dr L Lewis, Dr Z Adam, Dr G Fancourt, Prof. K West, Prof, J Dias

Honorary Treasurer:

Professor H Thurston

Honorary Auditors:

Dr R P Archer

Honorary Librarian:

Dr P Sheldon