Department of Molecular and Cell Biology

A brief history of the Department

Although the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology was only formed in 2015 it has a much longer history. The new department was formed from staff of the Department of Biochemistry (founded in 1961 with Prof Sir Hans Kornberg, FRS as its first head of department) together with staff of the Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology, which itself was formed (in 1993) from the Department of General Physiology (founded in 1967 with Prof Ronald Whittam, FRS as its first head) and the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (founded in 1975 by Prof Sir Robert Kilpatrick, FRSE).

We are proud to continue this 50+ year history of research excellence at Leicester and to continue to make new and exciting contributions to the disciplines of Biochemistry, Physiology and Pharmacology. The inaugural head of department was Prof John Schwabe (now Director of LISCB). Since autumn 2017, Prof John Challiss has been Head of Department.

Back to top