Centre for Urban history

50 years of the Urban History Journal Conference

The State of Urban History: Past, Present, Future - 11-13 July 2023

Conference registration

We are pleased to confirm that registration for the conference is now open. 

Register now

Conference programme

View the programme for the conference.

View conference programme (PDF, 413kb)

Guidance for panel chairs and panelists

As you prepare for your session at the conference, please keep the following points in mind:

  • The conference theme is the “State of Urban History.” We encourage panel and workshop participants to direct their presentation of research and remarks around this shared topic.  
  • We encourage interaction among session participants beforehand in order to maximize audience participation on the day of the session. Please share papers among the participants at least one week prior to the conference.
  • Panel chairs should provide a brief introduction of participants and a brief overview of the panel and its relation to the conference theme.
  • Presentations should last no longer than 15 minutes in panels and workshops with three presenters or 12 minutes if there are four presenters.
  • In order to encourage discussion among conference participants and audience members, please allow a full 20 minutes for audience questions and commentary.
  • Please keep the conference organizers informed of all panel changes as soon as possible.

Further information

Practical information

For information about how to reach to Leicester please visit our travel advice page.

Information about the city can be found at Visit Leicester (which also includes information about local hotels under 'Where to stay' if you are not staying at College Court).

We have also arranged a 50% discount for conference delegates at the King Richard III Visitor centre on presentation of their certificates of attendance.

Keynote speakers

  • Lynn Hollen Lees (University of Pennyslvania)
  • Martha Howell (Columbia University)
  • Kennetta Hammond Perry (De Montfort University)
  • Brenda Yeoh (National University of Singapore) 

Conference organising committee

  • Shane Ewen (Leeds Beckett University)
  • Simon Gunn (University of Leicester)
  • Erika Hanna (University of Bristol)
  • Jelle Haemers (University of Leuven)
  • Tom Hulme (Queen’s University Belfast)
  • Nora Lafi (Humboldt University, Berlin)
  • Rebecca Madgin (University of Glasgow)
  • Louise Miskell (University of Swansea)
  • Janiki Nair (Jawaharlal Nehru University)
  • Tracey Neumann (Wayne State University)
  • Sergio Miranda Pacheco (National Autonomous University of Mexico
  • Markian Prokopovych (Durham University)
  • Roey Sweet (University of Leicester)
  • Domenic Vitiello (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Rosemary Wakeman (Fordham University)


The Leicester conference is committed to environmental responsibility. We pledge to actively minimize our environmental impact by restricting our carbon footprint where possible, by reducing waste and by recycling, and by restricting conference meals to vegetarian offerings.

Back to top