Leicester chemist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Award

Dr Dylan Williams, of our Department of Chemistry, is the Royal Society of Chemistry Higher Education Teaching Award winner for 2018.

Dr Williams has worked on new ways of teaching chemistry at university since 2007. His approach is based on learning experiences that allow students to work in teams on open-ended problems, developing their chemical and workplace skills.

“My ultimate aim is to help chemistry students develop the scientific and workplace skills that are needed to meet the challenges society face such as developing renewable energy technologies and improving methods of food analysis”, he says.

The Higher Education Teaching Award is awarded for creative contributions to diversifying modes of teaching and assessment of chemistry, for the rigorous evaluation of those methods and their generous sharing with the community. Dr Williams receives £2000 and a medal, and will complete a UK lecture tour.

On winning the Award he said: “I am delighted to have been selected to receive the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Higher Education Teaching Award. I believe this award recognises the importance of research and innovation in chemistry education at HE level and I am honoured that my work in this area has been recognised in this way. I look forward to sharing the findings from my work during the lecture tour.”

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said:

“The chemical sciences are vital for the wellbeing of our world and chemical scientists help to change people’s lives for the better. That’s why we’re so proud to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our Prizes and Awards.

“This year’s inspiring and influential winners come from a range of specialisms, backgrounds, countries and communities. Each has done their bit to advance excellence in the chemical sciences – to improve the lives of people around the world now and in the future.”

Our winners are recognised for the originality and impact of their research, or for their contributions to the chemical sciences industry or chemistry education. The Awards also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.