Our Research Institutes


The Leicester Institute for Advanced Studies Fellowship programme is one of our core areas of activity, enabling our researchers to build interdisciplinary collaborations with scholars from the UK and beyond. The cohorts create sustainable partnerships; we currently have an alumni of 30 Fellows from over 20 countries. 

LIAS Fellows 2022-2023:

  • Dr Hafsa Toor (Host: Professor Kevin Paterson)
  • Professor Linda Theron (Host: Dr Diane Levine)
  • Dr Ipshita Nath (Co-hosts: Professor Michael Barer; Professor Manish Pareek; Dr Tammy Ayres)
  • Dr Kaushalya Liyanage (Host: Professor Teela Sanders)

LIAS Fellows 2021-2022: 

  • Professor Marion Mutugi (Host: Professor Mark Jobling, Co-host: Professor Lisa Smith)
  • Dr Yazidhi Bamutaze (Host: Dr Nibedita Ray-Bennett)

The Twycross conservation cluster 2022:

  • Dr Lisa Gillespie (Host: Professor Colin Hewitt)
  • Dr Rebecca Biddle (Host: Professor Colin Hewitt)
  • Dr John Clarkson (Host: Professor Colin Hewitt)

Virtual Fellowship Award

The Virtual Fellowship Scheme was conceptualised to offer awarded Fellows the continued opportunity to collaborate with University of Leicester academics during lockdown. 

Fellows funded through the Global Challenges Research Fund 2020/2021:

  • Dr Polina Golovatina, University of Medellin, Colombia (Host: Dr Joshua Vande Hey)
  • Dr Romauld Boua, Clinical Research Unit of Nanoro (CRUN), IRSS-DRCO, Burkina Faso (Host: Dr Chiara Batini)
  • Dr Bassant Hassib, British University in Egypt (Host: Professor Athina Karatzogianni)

Fellows funded through the Pandemics call:

  • Dr Paul Hirini, Bethlehem Tertiary Institute, New Zealand (Host: Dr Michelle O'Reilly)

LIAS Fellows 2017-2018

LIAS Rutherford Fellows 2018-2019

The scheme was funded by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and administered by Universities UK International. Drawing on expertise from across disciplines, our Rutherford Fellows all contributed to the overarching theme of Resilient, Inclusive and Sustainable Cities.

LIAS Fellows 2018-2019

LIAS GCRF Fellows 2018-2019

LIAS GCRF Training Fellows 2018-2019


  • Dr Rossina Pareja, Instituto de Investigacion Nutricional, Peru
  • Dr Siti Asdia Binti Masran, Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia, Malaysia

Fellows 2019-2020

  • Dr Timothy Biswick, University of Malawi (ACU Blue Charter)
  • Dr David Wilkins, University of Leicester (ESRC IAA)
  • Dr Canh Nguyen, University of Economics Ho Chi Minh City (GCRF)
  • Dr Patrick Laviolette, University of Tartu

Ways to engage with the Fellows hosted in LIAS

  • Contact them at their Leicester email addresses
  • Join us for a virtual lunch - email lias@le.ac.uk to book a place
  • Sign up for the LIAS e-zine, by emailing lias@le.ac.uk
  • Follow us on Twitter - @LeicsIAS

Honorary Visiting Fellowships

LIAS is keep to support academic staff engaged in interdisciplinary research with external collaborators in applying to the Univeristy for the award of the title of Honorary Visiting Fellow. This will be a fitting recognition of the contribution that our external collaborators make to the life and work of the institute and the wider University. 

The application process is straightforward. University of Leicester staff should complete an honorary title request form, which will be reviewed and signed by the Director of LIAS. This form should be accompanied by two documents: 

  • Honorary Visiting Fellow's CV (no longer than six pages) and a minimum size of 12
  • Personal statement - details in the prospective Fellow's words of the contribution that they will make to the University 

 LIAS will add a supporting statement which details how the collaboration will benefit the institute, and the University, and forward to HR for processing. If an honourary title is awarded, the recipient agrees to certain obligations and privileges. 

Full details can be found on the University’s Sharepoint pages (log-in required). Expressions of interest should be sent, in the first instance, to lias@le.ac.uk.

Back to top