Leicester Medical School

Entry requirements

For the A199 Medicine with Foundation Year MBChB course, there will be 35 places available. Up to 25 places are open to those who have been resident in the East Midlands while studying for A-levels or BTEC (or for two years prior to the start of the course). A further 10 places will be available for students applying from elsewhere within the UK.

We consider the East Midlands to be the following counties in the UK:

  • Leicestershire  
  • Rutland  
  • Derbyshire (including DE13-DE15 representing Burton and surrounding areas)
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Lincolnshire (excluding North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire)
  • Peterborough and surrounding areas (Postcodes PE1-PE9)
  • Rugby, Bedworth, Nuneaton, Atherstone and Coventry (Postcodes CV1-CV13 & CV21-CV23)

Please be aware that you must be a UK student living and studying in the UK. If your home country is not the United Kingdom but you are living in the UK, you must have indefinite leave to remain in the United Kingdom at the time of your application, or have refugee status (a letter from the Home Office is required).

Applicants must meet the academic and widening participation criteria as well as the UCAT, health, age and DBS check requirements.

Back to top