Senate Regulation 5: Regulations governing Undergraduate Programmes of Study: Introduction (5.1-5.11)



These regulations apply to all undergraduate level programmes offered by the University of Leicester for students starting their studies from the 2018/19 academic year.


The regulations refer to levels of study as articulated in the Framework for Higher Education Qualifications. For full-time students on an undergraduate degree programme level 4 will normally equate to year one, level 5 to year 2, level 6 to year 3 and level 7 to year 4 of an integrated master’s degree programme.


The University offers undergraduate programmes which lead to the award of an Integrated Master Degree, a Bachelor Degree, Foundation Degree, Diploma of Higher Education and Certificate of Higher Education. Where appropriate, Boards of Examiners for these programmes may make an intermediate award to students who do not complete or satisfy the examiners in the programme for which they are registered, but otherwise satisfy the criteria for such an intermediate award.


The undergraduate qualifications awarded by the University are:

  • Master of Chemistry (MChem)
  • Master of Biological Sciences (MBiolSci)
  • Master of Computing (MComp)
  • Master of Engineering (MEng)
  • Master of Geology (MGeol)
  • Master of Mathematics (MMAth)
  • Master of Physics (MPhys)
  • Master of Science (MSci)
  • Bachelor of Arts (BA)
  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB)
  • Bachelor of Medical Science (BMedSci)
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc)
  • Arts Foundation Degree (FdA)
  • Science Foundation Degree (FdSc)
  • Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE)
  • Certificate of Higher Education (CertHE)


A degree may be awarded with honours, as a pass degree, without honours in the case of the MBChB degree, and as an ordinary degree in the case of the B Med Sci. Certificates and Diplomas of Higher Education are unclassified.


A programme may be approved with higher reassessment, progression, or award requirements than those set out in these regulations where there is a demonstrable requirement from a professional or statutory regulatory body (PSRB). Programmes may also have specified prerequisites which are requirements that particular modules or assessment components must be passed in order to progress to the next level. Specific requirements for a particular programme will be detailed in the relevant programme specification.

Programme Structure and Credits


All awards of the University are made on the basis of the accumulation of credit as detailed below, in accordance with the requirements of the national Framework of Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ). 120 credits is undertaken at each level of study which is normally split equally between two semesters. Any variation from this will be approved by the Quality and Standards Sub-Committee on the recommendation of the relevant Programme Approval Panel. Students must take the stated number of credits but an award may be made with a specified number of failed credits in accordance with the relevant scheme of assessment below. 

University awards

Award  Number of credits  ECTS* points  FHEQ Level 
Integrated Master Degree  480  240 7
Bachelor Degree with Honours 360  180 6
Degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery 600 300 6
BA/BSc Top Up Degree 120  60 6
Foundation Degree 240 120 5
Diploma of Higher Education 240 120 5
Certificate of Higher Education 120 60 4

*ECTS is the European Credit Transfer System and one ECTS is equivalent to two UK credits



Modules are examined by a range of assessment methods as detailed in module specifications.


Module Specifications state how the components of a module will be combined to form a module mark and whether a particular mark must be gained in an individual component for the module to be passed.


Students are given credit for a module when they have completed all the requirements of the module. All assessment requirements must be completed, including, where these form part of the programme, any study abroad or placement requirements and achieving a pass mark in the assessment associated with the module. Students are required to submit or sit all assessments relating to a module, except where a student has accepted mitigating circumstances and a Mitigating Circumstances Panel has approved an alternative course of action, or if the relevant Panel of Examiners has determined that, exceptionally, credit can be given for a module where an assessment has not been submitted because all Intended Learning Outcomes have been achieved and the student has an overall pass for the module.


The pass mark for all undergraduate assessments and modules at levels 4 to 6 is 40.00%. The pass mark for assessments and modules for integrated masters’ programmes at level 7 is 50.00%.

Back to top