Membership 2020-21

The President and Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor N Canagarajah

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor E Burke


  • Professor P Baker (Research and Enterprise)
  • Professor G Wynn (Education)

Pro-Vice-Chancellors/Heads of College

  • Professor T Robinson (Life Sciences)
  • Professor H O'Connor (Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities)
  • Professor S Davies (Science and Engineering)

Director of the Doctoral College

  • Professor D Lambert

University Librarian

  • Mr N Donohue

The Director of Estates and Digital Services

  • Mr M Flanagan

The Director of Student Opportunity

  • Mr R Fryer

Academic Registrar

  • Mrs L Masterman

Heads of Department

Name  Department/School Term
Dr Y Amrani Respiratory Science 2020
Professor N Armstrong Department of Health Sciences 2018-2022
Dr H Barton* School of Archaeology and Ancient History 2019-2023
Professor E Bunce School of Physics and Astronomy 2020-2023
Professor N Chakraborti  School of Criminology 2016-2021
Professor J Challiss Department of Molecular and Cell Biology 2017-2021
Professor J Devlin School of Business 2019
Professor S Dudley* School of Museum Studies  2017-2021
Professor A Ellis School of Chemistry 2016-2022
Dr S Fishwick School of Geography, Geology and the Environment  2020-2024
Professor S Garrett School of Mathematics and Actuarial Science 2018-2023
Professor S Garrett School of Engineering 2019-2020
Dr C Hewitt
School of Biological Sciences
Professor R Holland Leicester Medical School 2017-
Professor S Kyd Leicester Law School 2019-2021
Professor G Lewis School of History, Politics and International Relations 2018-2021
Professor L Liu School of Informatics 2019-2023
Professor J Marshall School of Allied Health Professions 2021
Dr C Morley School of Arts 2021
Professor A Ng Department of Cardiovascular Sciences 2020-2024
Professor K Paterson Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour 2021
Dr J Prados School of Psychology 2017-2021
Professor J Shaw  Department of Genetics and Genome Biology 2020-2023
Dr I Somerville School of Media, Communication and Sociology 2019-2021
Professor C Wilkins School of Education 2020-2021

Nominated members

College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Dr E Jones School of Arts 2019-2022
Professor R Thomas School of Archaeology and Ancient History 2019-2022

College of Science and Engineering

Dr S Handa School of Chemistry 2018-2021
Professor M Purnell* School of Geography, Geology and the Environment 2016-2021

College of Life Sciences

Professor A Thomas Department of Genetics and Genome Biology 2017-2020
Professor J Schwabe Department of Molecular and Cell Biology 2019-2022

Other nominated members

  • Dr K Herbert, Leicester Medical School (2020)
  • Professor A Goodall*, Department of Cardiovascular Sciences (2020)
  • Vacancy x 3

Student members

  • President of the Students' Union: Ms R Jenkins
  • A Sabbatical Officer of the Students' Union: TBC
  • Three current registered students of the University, appointed by the Students’ Union, as prescribed by Ordinance: Vacancy


  • Secretary: Registrar and Secretary, Mr G Green
  • Assistant Secretary: Governance Office

* Senate representative on Council