Membership 2019-20

The President and Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor Nishan Canagarajah (Chair)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor E Burke


  • Professor I Gillespie  (Research and Enterprise)
  • Professor G Wynn (Education) (acting)

Pro-Vice-Chancellors/Heads of College

  • Professor P Baker (Life Sciences)
  • Professor H O'Connor (Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities)
  • Professor P Monks (Science and Engineering)

Director of the Doctoral College

  • Professor D Lambert

University Librarian

  • Ms C Taylor

The Director of IT Services

  • Mrs L Bailey

The Director of Student Life

  • Mr R Fryer

Heads of Department

Name  Department/School Term
Professor N Armstrong Health Sciences 2018-2022
Professor M Barer Respiratory Sciences 2019
Dr Simon Barry Allied Health Professions 2019-2022
Dr H Barton Archaeology and Ancient History 2019-2023
Professor W Cajkler Education 2018-2020
Professor N Chakraborti  Criminology 2016-2020
Professor J Challiss Molecular and Cell Biology 2017-2021
Professor J Chambers
Engineering 2017-2021
Professor S Davies Geography, Geology and the Environment  2017-2021
Professor J Devlin School of Business 2019-
Professor S Dudley Museum Studies  2017-2021 
Professor A Ellis Chemistry 2016-2020
Professor I Forsythe Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour
Professor S Garrett Mathematics 2018-2023
Professor A Goodall Genetics and Genome Biology 2017-2019
Professor M Halliwell  Arts 2017-2020
Dr C Hewitt
Biological Sciences
Professor R Holland Leicester Medical School 2017-
Professor Sally Kyd Leicester Law School 2019-2020
Professor G Lewis History, Politics and International Relations 2018-2020
Professor L Liu Informatics 2019-2023
Dr J Prados Psychology 2017-2021
Professor T Robinson  Cardiovascular Sciences 2016-2020
Dr I Somerville Media, Communication and Sociology 2019-2020
Professor G Wynn Physics and Astronomy 2018-2022

Nominated members

College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Dr E Jones School of Arts 2019-2022
Professor R Thomas School of Archaeology and Ancient History 2019-2022

College of Science and Engineering

Dr S Handa School of Chemistry 2018-2021

College of Life Sciences

Professor A Thomas Department of Genetics and Genome Biology 2017-2020
Professor John Schwabe Department of Molecular and Cell Biology 2019-2022

Other nominated members

  • Professor R Norman, Leicester Medical School (2016-2020)
  • vacancy

Student members

  • President of the Students' Union
  • A Sabbatical Officer of the Students' Union


  • Secretary: Academic Registrar
  • Assistant Secretary: Andrew Petersen, Quality Office