Nominations Committee

Terms of Reference 2018-19


On behalf of Council and Court, to maintain oversight of and provide advice on matters relating to the lay membership of Council and its committees, and of Court, as specified in the University’s Statutes and Ordinances.


  1. To recommend appointments to Council and Court in the following categories of membership:
    a. Council: Statutes Section 4.1 (Class 2 - Lay Members and Class 3 - Court Members)
    b. Court: Ordinances Section 11.1
  2. To recommend appointments to the Offices of Chancellor*, Pro-Chancellor (Chair of Council) and Treasurer.
  3. To approve on behalf of Council the appointment of lay members of Council, and other lay people where necessary, to serve as members of University committees and other bodies, as required by committee constitutions or on a co-opted basis, where appropriate.
  4. To provide advice on appointments, if requested, by any outside organisation with a right of nomination to Court.
  5. To approve on behalf of Council appointments to external bodies on which the University has the right of nomination.
  6. To review the membership of those members of Council who have, without giving good cause, failed to attend a minimum of three Ordinary meetings of Council in the academic year, and to make recommendations to Council (or to Senate through Council) as appropriate. The Committee shall also review the record of attendance of members of Council at meetings of its Audit, Finance, Nominations and Remuneration committees.
  7. To approve on behalf of Council the acceptance of donations, and the naming of University buildings, rooms, open spaces and other facilities.
  8. To consider and make recommendations on any general matters of governance and procedure referred to it by Council.
  9. To consider, record and address the potential equal opportunity impacts of decisions made by the Committee (in accordance with the ‘due regard’ provisions of the Equality Act 2010).

In making its recommendations for appointments, the Committee shall take account of the backgrounds and expertise of those nominated, and shall take such steps as are reasonable to secure a balance of membership appropriate to the functions of Council and Court. Nominations shall have regard to any guidance provided by Council and Court as to length of service and rotation of members.

Reports to

Council and/or Court, as appropriate.

Annual reports

Constitution and Membership 2018-19

The constitution of the ‘core’ committee is as follows:

a) The Chair of Council (Chair) (Bridget Towle)

b) The Treasurer (Gary Dixon)

c) The Acting Vice-Chancellor (Edmund Burke, from 1 April 2019)

d) The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Edmund Burke - Acting Vice Chancellor from 1 April 2019)

e) The representative of the Alumni Association serving on Council (Steph Osborn)

f) Three other lay members of Council, appointed by Council (Ian Johnson (2019), Janet Arthur (2020) and Carole Thorogood (2021).

The following shall also be members of an ‘Augmented’ Committee, solely for the purpose of considering the appointment of a Chancellor*:

g) The Chair of the Alumni Association (or another representative of the Alumni Association if the Chair is appointed under e) above)

h) The President of the Students' Union

Duration of appointment

a), b), c), d) and e) are ex-officio. Members appointed under f) shall serve for three years and shall retire for at least one year before being eligible for re-appointment. Members appointed under g) and h) shall serve for whatever period is required for the appointment of a Chancellor.

Normally in attendance at meetings

The Registrar and Chief Operating Officer.


Governance Office.

Frequency of meetings

The Committee will normally meet at least three times in each academic year.


The quorum for the core Committee is 3 members, including at least one lay member of Council.  The quorum for the Augmented Committee is 4 members, including at least two lay members of Council.

*The appointment process for future Chancellors is currently under review.