#### **UNIVERSITY OF LEICESTER**

## SENATE

# Minutes of a meeting held via correspondence 10 August 2023

Invited for response: Alison Snape, Andre Ng, Anex Saju, Anwar Afhim, Archie Robinson, Catherine Morley, Chris Wilkins, Dan Ladley, David Cousins, David Wright, Eamonn Mallon, Elizabeth Draper, Emma Sleath, Gabrielle Provan, Geerten Vuister, Gemma Parker, Henrietta O'Connor, Huw Barton, Ian Forristal, Ian Somerville, Jacqui Shaw, Jayne Marshall, John Challiss, Kevin Paterson, Krista Cowman, Leena Sodha, Linda Ralphs, Lisa Smith, Liz Jones, Ljiliana Marjanovic-Halburd, Mark Purnell, Nishan Canagarajah, Nuala Devlin, Phil Baker, Prachi Bhatt, Pranabashis Haldar, Richard Thomas, Sally Kyd, Sandeep Handa, Sarah Davies, Simon Gay, Simon Vaughan, Steve Williams, Steven Bull, Stewart Fishwick, Teela Sanders, Thompson Robinson, Tilly Blyth, Tracey Dodman, Zoe Groves

**Copied to:** Geoff Green (Secretary to Senate), Alison Benson (Assistant Secretary to Senate), Joe Suffield (Secretariat)

#### **UNRESERVED BUSINESS**

## 23/M16 SENATE NOMINATION TO COUNCIL

Senate **approved** the appointment of Gabrielle Provan as the Senate nominated member of Council.

## 23/M17 CHANGES TO ORDINANCES 20 & 21 (ALUMNI ASSOCIATION)

Senate **considered** the changes to Ordinances 20 and 21 in relation to the University Alumni Association.

A comment was received which requested clarification about the procedure for the appointment of the Chair. It was confirmed that the Alumni Association had been involved in the development of the procedure, which would include a working group to identify suitable candidate and approval by the Alumni Association Committee. The University would ensure that there was rigour throughout the process.

**CHAIR**